Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

California Debt Collection Laws and Statutes

Below you will find important information on Following is some important information on California state debt recovery laws including: California Statutes, Judgments, Garnishments, Interest Rates, and Bad Check Laws.

STATE: CALIFORNIA

Interest Rate

  • Legal: 10%
  • Judgment: 10% (Unless otherwise contracted)

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)

  • Open Account: 2 (no writing)
  • Open Account: 4 (reduced to writing)
  • Written Contract: 4
  • Domestic Judgment: 10 (renewable at 10)
  • Foreign Judgment: 10 (commencing with judgment debtor’s commencement of CA residence.)

BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)

Amount due, treble damages – minimum $100 maximum $1500 per check.

GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS

See federal law. Exemptions for necessaties of life.

*California is a community property state

NO RECOVERY, NO FEE DEBT COLLECTIONS

Request A Free Quote

Requests are responded to within 24 hours.
Copyright © 2020 HF Holdings, Inc.

NO RECOVERY, NO FEE
DEBT COLLECTIONS

Request A Free Quote

Tell us about the money owed to you and get a FREE quote today! Requests are responded to within 24 hours.